The Birth of The Military History Blog!

Hello!

So this is where it all starts…

My name is JonnyWW2 Poster Morris and I have always been fascinated with History. I studied History and Politics at Cardiff university and after graduating I spent much of my spare time reading books on the topic. The one main aspect of History that always stood out to me was war. Whenever I thought of History, the first thing that came into my mind were the countless conflicts that have torn this world to pieces, all fought over territories, religion, independence, economies, democracy, subjugation, freedom… the list is endless!

I find it incredibly fascinating that we can literally trace aspects of our way of life today back to certain events, like a specific country winning, or losing, a war. The outcome of these conflicts created the world in which we live today and I think it’s important to understand how these things came about.

I also love to ask the unanswerable question of what the world would be like today if things had gone differently. Just think what if Germany won in the First World War, or even the Second World War for that matter? What if Britain had won the war of American Independence, or if the Bolshevik’s lost the Russian Civil war? What if Napoleon was not defeated at Waterloo? Europe and certainly the world would have been unrecognizable to us.

I do not wish to ignore the other factors that brought about change in history, but this blog is going to focus on the history of modern military conflicts. Above all I want this blog to be a mark of respect to all the combatants in all wars throughout history, to the winners and the losers, and to ensure that we never forget the sacrifices that these people made to fight for what they believed in.

I hope you enjoy my articles, and thank you for visiting!

Jonny.

2 thoughts on “The Birth of The Military History Blog!

  1. Best of luck to you in your new endeavor. There are some wonderful people here on History, Family History and Military – an interest in history is all it takes.

Leave a Reply

